FOR LADY HAWKINS ONLY
MIllbridge Memorial Hospital provides comprehensive physical exams. The charge per exam is $100, while the variable cost per exam is $65. Thirty percent of the patients that come in for exams are private pay. They must pay the full charge. Seventy percent of the patients are covered by an insurance company that has an agreement with the clinic reduces the charge by 20 percent. The clinic has $210,000 in fixed costs per year. How many exams must the clinic provide in order to break even?
The fixed costs of running a fund-raising dinner for Meals for the Homeless are $10,000 and the variable costs are $75 per attendee. The facility where the event is being held can accommodate 500 people.
Answer the following questions.
If Meals charge $275 per ticket, how many people would have to attend the gala for the organization to break even on the event?
If Meals charged $300 per ticket, the contribution margin from each ticket sold without be:________
If 500 people attend the event, how much does the organization have to charge each attendee to earn a profit of $100,000? (Assume costs from original problem are still in effect.)
Milbridge Animal Protective Services (MAPS) is planning its spring awards dinner as a fund-raising event. It is planning to charge each attendee $150 Feast Hall, the site of the dinner, will charge MAPS $5,000 for the use of its posh VIP Room and $50 per plate for food. The VIP Room has a capacity of 180 people. Rocky Mount and the Tar Heels (one band) will provide the entertainment for their standard performance fee of $1,000 per night.
How many people would need to attend in order for MAPS to break even?
If MAPS sells 100 tickets for the dinner, what is the average cost to MAPS for each person with a ticket?
PPO of Millbridge Township (PPOMT) sells health benefit plans to local employers. The organization charges its clients (local employers) $50 for each office visit provided to a covered employee. PPOMT contracts with individual physicians to provide the office visits to its health plan beneficiaries. The organization pays its contracted physicians a fee of $40 for each new patient visit and $30 for each follow-up office visits. PPOMT maintains an office building where all routine office visits are conducted. The organization pays $6,000 in occupancy expenses each month for the building. PPOMT also incurs monthly staffing costs of $12,000 for maintenance and administrative staff at it facility.
How many office visits must PPOMT deliver to break even?
Assuming that PPOMTS facility is open 21 days in a typical month, how much profit will it earn if each of its five contracted physicians sees an average of 12 patients each day?
You are giving the following information about We-Save-Um Animal Rescue (WSU).
Number of dogs rescued and placed by WSU – 600
Average length of stay for a dog- 10 days
Daily cost of feeding one dog- $.90
Number of veterinary visits per dog 0 1.2
Cost per veterinary visit – $35
Cost of spay/neuter and transportation per dog rescued- $45
Cost of the kennel and related equipment – $300,000
Useful life of the kennel and related equipment – 20 years
WSU uses straight line depreciation
Salvage value of the kennel and related equipment-$0
WSU has three full time employees. An executive director who earns $40,000 per year, an evaluator/trainer, who earns $30,000 per year, and a kennel manager, who earns $25,000. Fringe benefits are equal to 25 percent of each employee’s annual salary.
WSu expects to place all of the dogs that it takes into the program by the last day of the fiscal year. It charges an adoption fee of $225 per dog. Experience has shown that 15 percent of the people elect to make an additional donation to WSU at the time of adoption. Historically, these extra donations have averaged $200. In addition, WSU has an active fund-raising program and expects to raise $40,000 in donations during the fiscal year.
The executive director wants to know how many dogs she has to place next year to break even. Calculate WSU’s break-even.
Calabrese City allocated some indirect or overhead costs to each of its police stations. The city charges each station for common services such as the city food service and for administrative services such as payroll. For the coming year, the Washington Square Police Station will have a total budget allocation of $1,400,000. That will be its only revenue. All direct and indirect charges have to be paid from that budgeted amount.
Each police station must pay $100,000 for processing its payroll. In addition, once arrests are made, the prisoners spend a day or two in the local police station, where the city must feed them. On average, the City Food Service charges each police station $40 meal service for each arrest.
The station would like to maximize its number of arrests to reduce the number of criminals on the street. However, more arrests require not only more food, but also more police officers.
The personnel employed by the Washington Square Station are supervisors, desk clerks, and police officers. The minimum staffing levels based on total budgeted arrests are as follows:
Annual Number Police Desk
Of Arrests Officers Clerks Supervisors
0-1,000 11 6 2
1,001-2,000 12 6 2
2,001-3,000 12 7 2
3,001-4,000 13 8 3
Annual salaries for each class of employee follow: supervising officers, $68,500, desk clerks, $59,000, and police officers, $54,000. Note that this police station cannot process more than 4,000 arrests per year.
Calculate the maximum number of arrests that Washington Square can budget and still expect to break even for the coming year.
7. Millbridge Ambulance Service has been considering consolidation their three locations into just two locations. The location they are considering closing currently costs $155,000 to operate. If the location is closed, the ambulance from that location would be moved to the other two locations. The savings from the closure would be partially offset by increased expenses at the two remaining locations. Millbridge will lost $40,000 of state subsidy if they close the location. They only want to close the location if the closure results in an overall financial improvement. The current costs of the location are as follows:
Salaries of Staff $80,000
Repairs and Maintenance 10,000
General and Administrative 20,000
The general and administrative expenses of $20,000 are an allocation of costs from the central office. The costs of the central office are not affected by the existence of the specific locations. If the location is closed, the staff would be transferred to the other two locations, and the lease will be canceled, so there will be no rent or repairs and maintenance. While they won’t purchase supplies for this location, the supply cost of the other two location will rise by $20,000. What should Millbridge do?